Kilcock’s Nairn named on Kildare Minor team

Kildare minor football team to face Carlow

Talented Kilcock midfielder Findlay Nairn has been named at wing forward for the Kildare minor footballers’ Leinster Football Championship round one clash with Carlow.

Nairn and his team mates must travel to Netwatch Cullen Park, Carlow this Saturday where they will look to clear the first hurdle with victory over their dangerous hosts from 1pm.

Kilcock have been well represented at this level in recent years by Daniel Courtney and Jason Gibbons, both of whom won Leinster titles before falling at the All Ireland semi final stage and Nairn will be hoping to replicate their achievements.

Findlay is joined on the panel by club mate Lee Loughnane but unfortunately for Lee he is currently out with a hand injury.  

Deirbhle Mulvihill crowned 2017 Kildare Rose

Kilcock woman Deirbhle Mulvihill was named as the 2017 Kildare Rose at The Westgrove Hotel Clane on Saturday night last, 15th April.

Deirbhle who plays as a corner forward for the footballers of Cappagh and teaches Geography and Business at Clongowes Wood College will now represent County Kildare at the Rose of Tralee festival in The Dome, Tralee next August.

The Abbeyfield resident was in shock for sometime after the announcement and said; “It’s like I am fast asleep and in a dreamland. I promise to do the Lillies proud.”

Deirbhle’s family and friends didn’t waste any time in swarming the stage, with her father Niall showing his pride and emotion with an abundance of hugs and kisses.

The former student of Mulhussey NS County Meath and Scoil Dara Kilcock wowed the crowd and judges with her party piece, a tune on the tin whistle, her gift of the gab and of course the way she carried her natural beauty throughout.

Deirbhle was sponsored by Marron’s Pharmacy in Clane.

Best of luck Deirbhle from Robert at ExtraTimeSportLive.Com 

Kilcock fall to late Doyle penalty

Allenwood 1-7 Kilcock 0-9

A penalty from Kildare legend Johnny Doyle snatched a late victory from the jaws of defeat for Allenwood against Kilcock in division two of the Kildare SFL on Wednesday night.

Looking to secure their third win from three outings, Kilcock started off the better of the two sides and were in front after four minutes when wing forward Fearghal O’Brien pointed, Declan Gibbons charges doubled that lead when Eoin McArdle slotted over a free. Allenwood replied with two Johnny Doyle frees to level the scores at two points apiece.

Kilcock midfielder Conor Caulfield then split the posts to put the away side a point to the good before corner-forward Shane O’Rourke scored his first point of the game from a free. 

Good build up play from the hosts lead to Doyle kicking his third point of the game but Kilcock went straight back down the field and wing-back Mark Durkan cut inside to kick over from distance. 

Kilcock looked in control but Allenwood kept trying to put pressure on and were rewarded with a point. Eoin McArdle hit the final point of the half immediately afterwards and Kilcock went in at the Half-Time whiste 0-6 to 0-4 up. 

2nd half Allenwood came out all guns blazing in the second half but only scored one point for the amount of pressure they put on Kilcock. The away side then hot three point without reply. David Duke finished off a good Kilcock move to point over. Willie Bright waltzed himself onto a pass to get his first score of the game and Shane O’Rourke got his second point of the game. 

Kilcock were four points up and were cruising but Allenwood were not finished. They kicked the next two scores, one from play and a free before they were awarded the penalty. 

Johnny Doyle stepped up and slotted it home. kilcock fought hard to pull the game back in their favour but it wasn’t to be. 
The final score ended as Allenwood 1-7 Kilcock 0-9. 

1. Shane Stone

2. Rory O’Brien

3. Stephen Duffy

4. Conor Sheridan 

5. Mark Durkan (0-1)

6. Jason Gibbons 

7. Daniel Courtney

8. Conor Caulfield (0-1)

9. Ciarán Murray

10. David Duke (0-1)

11. Willie Bright (0-1)

12. Fearghal O’Brien (0-1)

13. Daragh McArdle

14. Shane O’Rourke (0-2, 1f)

15. Eoin McArdle (0-2, 1f)

Sub’s used: Declan Keane, paddy Kelly, Cian Duke

Giddy Up for the boys in green


Saturday 22nd April, 8:30pm
Kilcock GAA Club is to host a Race Night in aid of the men’s football team on Saturday 22nd of April. According to sources there will be plenty of craic and MC on the night will be the one and only Nigel Reynolds. Music will be provided afterwards.

We here at are delighted to be sponsoring a race on the night so make sure you get down and buy a horse/jockey for the big race!!!

Speaking to club PRO and team member Mark Durkan he said: “It promises to be a great night so pencil the date into the diary and come support the lads fundraiser”